P1012837.JPG
 

FASHION REDEFINED.

Sustainable clothing with a charitable purpose.

 

FASHION & SUSTAINABILITY

In the following, we want to shed light on problems in the fashion industry with regard to our environment and social justice as well as PER FINES solutions.

 
Environmental%20Pollution_edited.jpg

PROBLEMS

 

FASHION & ENVIRONMENT

smoke.png

CO2 emissions & climate change

The role of the fashion industry

The fashion industry produces 10% of man-made CO2 emissions.

As a result, the fashion industry emits more CO2 into the atmosphere than all air traffic and shipping (excluding cruise ships) combined.

textile.png

Cotton & polyester production

Pollution from textile production

Although cotton is grown on only 3% of the world's available agricultural land, 24% of all insecticides and 11% of all pesticides are sprayed on cotton fields. No other crop uses so many plant toxins. The artificial irrigation of cotton fields leads to salinization of the soil, a decline in long-term yields and a lowering of the water table, which can result in a shortage of drinking water for the local population.

Polyester is the most common textile fiber and is found in 52% of all clothing. The production of polyester emits 2-3 times more CO2 than cotton; at the same time, polyester decomposes much more slowly or not at all. Textiles are responsible for 35% of global microplastic pollution. Washing clothes releases 500,000 tons of microfibers into the oceans every year, the equivalent of 50 billion plastic bottles.

garbage.png

Textile waste

Pollution after fashion sales

Textile waste has increased by more than 400% in the last 5 years. Every second a truck full of textile waste is dumped into a landfill.

We got used to throwing away things that we no longer like, that are old or slightly damaged.

Almost a quarter (24.3%) of all textile waste is burned in a CO2-intensive manner, and more than half of the clothing waste (57.1%) ultimately ends up in the particularly environmentally harmful landfills.

Up to 95% of the textiles that land in landfills each year could be recycled or reused.

So far, only 10% of all textile waste is used on the market as used clothing and 8% is returned to the production cycle through recycling.

 

FASHION & SOCIAL JUSTICE

scale.png

Working conditions in developing countries

Since the building of a textile factory in a suburb of Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, collapsed on April 24, 2013, the conditions under which our garments are produced have become known worldwide. More than 5,000 workers were in the textile workshops at the time of the collapse. 1,136 of them died as a result of the devastating accident and over 2,000 were injured. The workers had mainly produced clothing for export, including for European fashion companies such as Primark, Benetton, Mango, C&A and also German companies such as KiK or Adler and their suppliers.

Although this accident was not the first in a textile mill for international mass production, the circumstances and the scale of the accident drew the attention of many consumers to the production of their clothes and sparked a widespread debate about the abuses in the global textile industry: below average wages, excessive wages Working days and hardly any free time, unprotected handling of chemicals and a lack of fire protection regulations are just some of the problems in the industry.

 
Image by Bas Emmen

solutions

 

FASHION & ENVIRONMENT

recycle-symbol-of-three-leaves.png

Recycling, upcycling, reuse

By recycling fabrics, we reduce CO2 emissions, textile waste and water consumption. The average German buys 60 new items of clothing every year, a total of around 14 kilograms.

Recycle and reuse extend the life of a garment. On average, a fast fashion item is only worn a maximum of 10 times. Shortening the lifespan of a T-shirt from 1 year (worn 50 times) to one month increases CO2 emissions by 550% per item per year. If the average lifespan of a garment is extended by 9 months, CO2, water and waste pollution can be reduced by 20-30%.

PER FINES purchases second-hand clothing and enhances it - creatively, innovative and visionary. We encourage our customers to buy less & better and more sustainably - to buy products that are fair and ecologically sustainable - to buy products that you can and want to wear for a long time.

earth-between-hands.png

Minimizing textile waste

We save textiles from the landfill.

Far too many items of clothing are thrown away even though they are as good as new and could be worn for a long time.

Second-hand does not mean that the clothes are old, used or bad. Second-hand clothing can be of high quality and as good as new.


PER FINES wants to consciously change the no longer up-to-date image of second-hand clothing.

plant.png

Waste prevention

We are a low-waste label, which means that at every production step we think about how we can keep our waste production as low as possible.

We achieve this, for example, by having our labels printed on so-called seed paper, so that a few weeks later the customer has a small flowerbed on the windowsill instead of rubbish. We do not attach these labels to clothing with plastic, but with safety pins that can be reused by customers.

P1012837.JPG
 

MODE NEU DEFINIERT.

Nachhaltige Kleidung mit Gemeinnützigem Zweck.

 

MODE & NACHHALTIGKEIT

Im Folgenden wollen wir Probleme der Modeindustrie in Bezug auf unsere Umwelt & soziale Gerechtigkeit sowie Lösungsansätze von PER FINES beleuchten.

 
Environmental%20Pollution_edited.jpg

PROBLEME

 

MODE & UMWELT

smoke.png

CO2-Emissionen & Klimawandel

Die Rolle der Modeindustrie

Die Modeindustrie produziert 10% der menschengemachten CO2-Emissionen.

Damit stößt die Modeindustrie mehr CO2 in die Atmosphäre als der gesamte Flugverkehr und die Schifffahrt (ausgenommen Kreuzfahrtschiffe) zusammen.

textile.png

Baumwoll- & Polyesterproduktion

Umweltverschmutzung durch Textilproduktion

Obwohl Baumwolle auf nur 3% der weltweit verfügbaren landwirtschaftlichen Nutzfläche angebaut wird, werden 24% aller Insektizide und 11% aller Pestizide auf Baumwollfeldern versprüht. Bei keiner anderen Nutzpflanze werden so viele Pflanzentoxine eingesetzt. Die künstliche Bewässerung von Baumwollfeldern führt zu einer Versalzung des Bodens, einem Rückgang der langfristigen Erträge und einer Absenkung des Grundwasserspiegels, was einen Mangel an Trinkwasser für die lokale Bevölkerung zur Folge haben kann.

Polyester ist die am häufigsten verwendete Textilfaser und findet sich in 52% aller Kleidungsstücke. Bei der Herstellung von Polyester wird 2-3 mal mehr CO2 ausgestoßen als bei Baumwolle, gleichzeitig zersetzt sich Polyester viel langsamer oder gar nicht. Textilien sind für 35% der weltweiten Verschmutzung durch Mikroplastik verantwortlich. Durch das Waschen von Kleidung gelangen jedes Jahr 500.000 Tonnen Mikrofasern in die Ozeane, das entspricht der Menge von 50 Milliarden Plastikflaschen.

garbage.png

Textilabfall

Umweltverschmutzung nach dem Modeverkauf

Innerhalb der letzten 5 Jahre ist der Textilmüll um mehr als 400% gestiegen. Jede Sekunde wird ein Laster voll mit Textilabfällen auf eine Deponie gekippt.

Wir haben uns daran gewöhnt, Dinge wegzuwerfen, die uns nicht mehr gefallen, die alt oder leicht beschädigt sind. 

Fast ein Viertel (24,3%) aller Textilabfälle wird CO2-intensiv verbrannt, und mehr als die Hälfte der Bekleidungsabfälle (57,1%) landet letztlich auf den besonders umweltschädlichen Deponien.

Bis zu 95% der Textilien, die jedes Jahr auf Deponien landen, könnten recycelt oder wiederverwendet werden. 

Bislang finden nur 10% aller Textilabfälle als Gebrauchtkleidung Verwendung auf dem Markt und 8% werden durch Recycling in den Produktionskreislauf zurückgeführt.

 

MODE & SOZIALE GERECHTIGKEIT

scale.png

Arbeitsbedingungen in Entwicklungsländern

Seit dem Gebäudeeinsturz einer Textilfabrik in einem Vorort von Dhaka, der Hauptstadt von Bangladesch, am 24. April 2013 sind die Bedingungen, unter denen unsere Kleidungsstücke produziert werden, weltweit bekannt geworden. Mehr als 5.000 Arbeiter waren zum Zeitpunkt des Zusammenbruchs in den Textilwerkstätten. 1.136 von ihnen starben an den Folgen des verheerenden Unfalls, über 2.000 wurden verletzt. Die Arbeiter hatten vor allem Kleidung für den Export produziert, unter anderem für europäische Modefirmen wie Primark, Benetton, Mango, C&A und auch deutsche Firmen wie KiK oder Adler und deren Zulieferer.

Obwohl dieser Unfall nicht der erste in einer Textilfabrik für die internationale Massenproduktion war, lenkten die Umstände und das Ausmaß des Unfalls die Aufmerksamkeit vieler Verbraucher auf die Produktion ihrer Kleidung und lösten eine umfangreiche Debatte über die Missstände in der globalen Textilindustrie aus: Unterdurchschnittliche Löhne, überlange Arbeitstage und kaum Freizeit, ungeschützter Umgang mit Chemikalien und fehlende Brandschutzbestimmungen sind nur einige der Probleme in der Branche.

 
Image by Bas Emmen

Lösungen

 

MODE & UMWELT

recycle-symbol-of-three-leaves.png

Recycling, Upcycling, Wiederverwendung

Durch das Recycling von Stoffen reduzieren wir CO2-Emissionen, Textilabfälle und den Wasserverbrauch. Ein durchschnittlicher Deutscher kauft jedes Jahr 60 neue Kleidungsstücke, insgesamt sind das etwa 14 Kilogramm. 

Recyceln und Wiederverwenden verlängert die Lebensdauer eines Kleidungsstücks. Im Durchschnitt wird ein Fast Fashion-Teil nur maximal 10 Mal getragen. Die Verkürzung der Lebensdauer eines T-Shirts von 1 Jahr (50 Mal getragen) auf einen Monat erhöht die CO2-Emissionen um 550 % pro Artikel und Jahr. Wenn die durchschnittliche Lebensdauer eines Kleidungsstücks um 9 Monate verlängert wird, kann die CO2-, Wasser- und Abfallverschmutzung um 20-30% reduziert werden.

PER FINES bezieht Kleidung aus zweiter Hand und wertet diese auf - kreativ, innovativ und visionär. Wir regen unsere Kunden an, weniger & dafür besser und nachhaltiger zu kaufen - Produkte zu kaufen, die fair und ökologisch nachhaltig produziert sind - Produkte zu kaufen, die man lange tragen kann und will. 

earth-between-hands.png

Minimierung von Textilabfällen

Wir retten Textilien vor der Mülldeponie.

Viel zu viele Kleidungsstücke werden weggeworfen, obwohl sie noch neuwertig sind und lange Zeit getragen werden könnten. 

Second-Hand bedeutet nicht, dass die Kleidung alt, gebraucht oder schlecht ist. Second-Hand Kleidung kann hochqualitativ und neuwertig sein.


PER FINES will das nicht mehr zeitgemäße Image von Kleidung aus zweiter Hand bewusst verändern.

plant.png

Müllvermeidung

Wir sind ein Low-Waste-Label, was bedeutet, dass wir bei jedem Produktionsschritt darüber nachdenken, wie wir unsere Abfallproduktion so gering wie möglich halten können.

Das erreichen wir zum Beispiel, indem wir unsere Etiketten auf sogenanntes Seed Paper drucken lassen, so dass der Kunde ein paar Wochen später statt Abfall ein kleines Blumenbeet auf der Fensterbank hat. Wir befestigen diese Etiketten nicht mit Plastik, sondern mit Sicherheitsnadeln an der Kleidung, die von den Kunden wiederverwendet werden können.